top of page

Walker 1791 History

There was nothing better than growing up in the country... I grew up on Farm Road 1791 which was about 12 minutes from town. I knew it was 12 minutes because I timed it so many times on the drive there. My parents lived in town and each Friday afternoon I'd load up my suitcase and my dad would drive me to "the country" as I fondly called it. I'd spend the weekend, every summer and holiday at my aunt and uncle's farm and my paternal grandmother lived next door. I was closer to my aunt and uncle, Sis as she was called by everyone and Uncle Reub, short for Reuben, their proper names were Ethel and Reuben Walker.

Here's a picture of us all:

I must have been around two in this picture, I loved them so.

Here we are again and this picture always reminded me that Sis was barefooted a lot, actually it was hard for me to even wear shoes when I was playing outside:

I have so many great memories of growing up here and being surrounded by farm life, cows, chickens, pigs, vegetable gardens, fishing ponds, and wading in a cool creek in the summertime, hayrides, roasting marshmallows and watching fireflies was the best childhood ever. We canned vegetables each season and put them in the smoke house. I had the best time playing in barns and the old "smoke house" was my pretend general store. I was surrounded by antiques that were used every day and acres of beautiful farm land could be seen for miles. It was a simpler time where faith, family, and friendships inspired me my whole life. Our company is named after my aunt and uncle, the Walkers. They were more like my grandparents to me. My uncle was a man that never met a stranger, loved all he came in contact with and showed me what it was like to live life to the fullest. My aunt taught me to bake and cook and the important things in life. 1791 is the farm road where the Farm was located so the love of this country road inspired me to incorporate it into my name. I hope you'll follow along on this adventure with us. You never know where the dirt road will take you...


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page