top of page

Catching up: 2020 & 2021

The last time I wrote a Blog Post was January 2020. I had promised to keep this blog going but I guess life happened and then there was the Pandemic that no one could have ever dreamed up. The world stood still for a brief moment and we all learned a new way of life. I know it's taken awhile for many of us to just feel like we are back to our "New Normal".


I'll highlight a few important things that went on during 2020. January stated out with us getting ready to do the Winter Antique Show that we've done every year for the past 10+ years. I also got to shop with Old Glory Antiques in Round Top, once I heard that they were closing. I found so many favorite things that I think I kept half of the items. This was one of my favorite things I bought that I still own, this awesome large church window;



In March we had the opportunity to dismantle an 1840's church that I had grew up going to as a child. Now this was an adventure I'm not sure I want to do again any time soon. We enjoyed discovering how this church was constructed. There were only nails at the top and bottom that held it together. It amazes me that nothing seem to phase it all the years it sat there. I hope to reconstruct it back soon into a different venue. I created an Instagram page to keep up with this adventure. Check it out at: https://www.instagram.com/walker1791_gardencottage/


We dismantled this until Texas opened back up after the pandemic and we spent the rest of the year searching for treasures and selling at Canton First Monday Trade Days in Canton Tx each month.


I think 2020 taught us so much about so many things, like we are more resilient so much more than we thought we were. We learned to have family meals again around the table, and to cook again as a family, to enjoy each other more and slow down and not take things or people for granted. Now looking back maybe 2020 wasn't so bad after all.


Of course coming into 2021 I know we were ready for a fresh start... only to wonder after a short time if 2021 was Part 2 of 2020!! We've had a crazy time with weather this year. It rarely snows in Texas or really doesn't even get cold and we've had our fair share of both. We have never had such cold weather this year but to top it off we had to survive without electricity and water a few days. That wasn't a fun time, but again we survived.


Now this year is half way over and I can't believe we're already into July. If you ever wonder what I'm up to check out my Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/Walker-1791-Salvage-Design-774197332683099) or my Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/walker1791salvage_design/) accounts. I post almost daily on both. Take care until we meet again on the next Junkin Road.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page