top of page

Old Home Places

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of Old Home Places is the farm I grew up on. It seems these days I've been looking for land that resembles this place. I look for real estate that has an old white farm house with a barn and acreage, a long drive way, and lots of trees. This description of this place seems scarce in my town. Big Real Estate developers seem to be buying land this way and removing all the trees, building tall fences, and bulldozing what is left of any resemblance of old home places. This has driven up the price of land as well and makes me wish a million times we had not sold the farm. Here is a pic of what the old home place looked like in the mid '80's around the time our oldest son was growing up. This picture is not the best but you can see what the old home place looked like. 

 The old barn in the background holds many memories. This is where the tractor was stored and where many machines were repaired. All the old tools were also kept here that helped keep the farm in working order. 

The old white smoke house/barn is where the meat was smoked and all the canning jars were kept. The side barn held numerous equipment and vegetables like new potatoes were kept here until ready to eat. I wish I would have kept that screen door. It’s one I look for often. 

The Smoke House is also where my pretend General Store was. I spent many hours selling out of that pretend general store and all my “mud pies” were sold 😍.  Do any of you remember making mud pies?  Mine were made in the old tins that pot pies came in, baked in the sun, then sold. Oh those were the days. Spending my summer months here. Outside all day and only coming inside for meals and going back until the late evening...

Next post I’ll show you my grandmothers old white farmhouse. 



Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page