top of page

Fall 2017 Texas Antique Week

Since I haven't blogged since February I thought I'd give you a quick glimpse where we will be for the next month, Fall Antique Week in Warrenton Texas. While this show goes for more than a week and for us we'll actually be there a month. We start unloading all our treasures we've gathered the last 6 months at the Tree Park Antique Show in Warrenton. If you're unfamiliar with this show, it's the last show on the left as you leave Warrenton toward the LaGrange Tx area. It's also an RV park and storage field. Just look for the Tree Park Sign on the left.

I thought I'd pull out an blog post from my previous blog because it always describes how I feel when I'm there. I have updated this post with my current information, but if you want to read the original post just scroll all the way to the bottom for the link.

I’ve always considered the Round Top/Warrenton Antique Show as my “soul vacation”. I first heard this term used by the Junk Gypsies and for many years when I worked full-time this was my only vacation. While it may have been a working vacation, I really didn’t mind the fact that I worked harder at this job than I did my full-time job.

Now that I’ve retired, it still rings true. I still work harder at this than any 9-5 job I could have and tell many that's its the best job I've ever had.

I usually set out early carrying down one of many loads to get ready for the show. Sometimes I feel like my truck looks like this:

I love the drive that I make to Warrenton. Once I hit Highway 237 I know I’m almost home free. It’s always such a beautiful drive there. Once I see this sign I know I've made it:

I'll be making the drive from my home this year, but during past seasons we've been coming from a different direction.

Setting up in a cow pasture/field for a month is indescribable. I have friends that have never been and they ask me to explain what it’s like to be there. It’s hard to do this, you’ll actually have to come and experience it for yourself but I’ll try to give you a taste of what it’s like here.

Pic via All Thing Beautiful

This is a small idea of what you'll see in any direction.

This year I'll be in a new field "TREE PARK ANTIQUES" in Warrenton Tx. It’s literally the last field as you leave Warrenton on the left side of Highway of 237 as you are headed toward LaGrange Tx, just look for this sign:

When you arrive, you will see treasures in every direction. You might even see a boat:

The show covers miles and miles and this will cover many towns so be prepared to be in awe from all that you see and maybe an occasional traffic jam:

Take your time and enjoy all that catches your eye. You might see a lot of legs:

Get there early and be prepared to walk and then drive some (bring comfortable shoes, snacks and water, and a shopping cart).

Since I stay fairly close to where I'm selling, I usually wake up early, coffee is already brewing or bacon frying and people are stirring getting ready for the day. Sometimes I'll get a quiet hello, or just a nod. Something always catches my eye and then I'll notice dew is still on the treasures.

There’s just a peacefulness and calmness here that can’t be reproduced in any part of the world. You won’t find big box stores here, but if you are looking for one of a kind treasure, great stories to be told, peaceful mornings, a small piece of Heaven, hanging out with friends and laughing until your sides hurt, and just an indescribable experience then come to this small Texas town. We’ll leave the light on for ya!!

Oh and don't forget your boots and prom dress because there is always a party to go to and especially the Prom held by the Junk Gypsies at Zapp Hall. This year the prom is on October 5th.

For us the show starts this weekend (well for unloading) and runs through October 7th.

To read my orginal post, click here: http://gardenantqs.blogspot.com/2015/09/fall-antique-show-season-is-here.html

And just a side note, while I know many are still recovering from Hurricane Harvey many of us are setting aside part of our funds to help those that have weathered this storm. We have much to be thankful for.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page